Review: The Syndicate (Timewaves #1) by Sophie Davis and Giveaway

The Syndicate is almost here!!

unnamedIn a future where time travel has been outlawed, a black market exists for anyone with the money, connections, and nerve to request items from days past. As a Runner for one of the underground syndicates that now controls the timewaves, Stassi 2446-89 has seen it all: the fall of Rome, the rise of Hitler, the end of democracy, the establishment of time tourism, and the devastating consequences of it. Her job is to seamlessly slip through the past, in search of items of value to the syndicate’s clientele.

Stassi’s next assignment takes her to Paris in the 1920’s, in search of a lost manuscript by one of the twentieth century’s greatest writers. She and her partner, Gaige, are swept up in the City of Light during the height of fashion and culture—as alluring a locale as they’ve ever visited. But a seedier side of life lurks beneath the glamorous façade, and the pair quickly learns this run is more dangerous than any of their previous missions.

Because history isn’t playing out as it should be—a first for the syndicate. When the stakes are raised and it becomes a matter of life or death, Stassi and Gaige must ultimately decide how far they’re willing to go to ensure the future as they know it.

 

Add it to Goodreads or Visit the Timewaves Website now!!

 

My Review:

The Syndicate (Timewaves #1)The Syndicate by Sophie Davis

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

4 1/2 stars!

Alright.

In the beginning I admit, it was really difficult for me to get into this book. I don’t know if it was residual book hangover from the several books I had just inhaled, or the way we seem to be dropped right into the story, but it’s really not quite the story yet, or perhaps the way life seemed to keep interrupting my reading time so as I couldn’t just zone in.

I don’t know. But it wasn’t until about 20% that I could really focus and started to become interested in the plot, and then 30-35% through when I finally became engrossed in the schemes, shenanigans and in all lives of the characters.

I can’t tell you how much and long I thought that Stassi was going to get with her Partner, but nooooo no matter how adorable he was, that wasn’t to be. Though they do make a great team and I absolutely love the wit and bite in the dialogue and certainly within Stassi’s character. She’s one of the
pluckiest
protagonists and I love it!!

Charles Dupree, let me count the way you vex me! I seriously, honest to goodness, loved and was anticipating a fallout with Charles. I knew something wasn’t as it seemed with him, and he was wayyyyy too interested in Stassi. Her tattoo, Her Locket. Just HER. I mean c’mon. the guy had SUSPICIOUS written on his forehead if you asked me. So it was no surprise when it came to the ending, but I still think there’s something fishy in the water. I only hope He and Stassi prevail, because although I had though She and Gaige would end up together her and Charles are a epic love story waiting to happen.

Ines, yeah. H A T E D HER. Like Intensely Immensely and in a very satisfying way. But I want to know wtf she is up to, because she is sooo up to something, twitchy little chain smoker that she is. That’s all I’m going to say on that matter.

This story had so many branching plotlines it was sometimes hard to keep track of what we were really reading, or looking for, sometimes I forgot something was even a part of the story until it was brought up again. But that could also be that we also got a lot of details loaded at us, both historical and made up futuristic. Sometimes it was a lot to process. I mean it was amazing getting all the background, and the details. I feel like I’ve walked 1920s Paris, and waltzed, or ran across the Island with Stassi, but sometimes it felt like an information dump, instead of seemingless part of the plot.

There were so many unanswered questions or loose ends that I’m hoping will be answered in the next book ( They Better be Sophie Davis!! *waves fiist at you*) but I honestly don’t know how some of them will be because I think they’ll need to return to 1920sParis, but aren’t they no longer allowed to go there? What about Stassi’s Locket and the shopkeeper who knew more then he was telling? What about her Promise to the Old Man? Hmm? Wont time be change now that a person who a part of recorded history is gone? I’m confused and excited and ohhhh, why did you have to end it there?????

It may have taken me some time and convincing but this book turned me around and has me begging for the next Timeswaves. perhaps those are the very BEST books though, not the ones that breeze by with your attention and opinion, but the ones that can change it, that manage to grasp you attention then hypnotize you and make a believer.

~Let the Ink Run Free

Thank You to the Authors for the ecopy!

View all my reviews

 

Other Sophie Davis Novels (Indicates Yet-to-be-Released Titles):

The Talented Saga: Talented, Hunted, Caged, Captivated, Created, Exiled: Kenly’s Story, Unforgettable, (Inescapable)

The Timewaves Series: The Syndicate, (Atlic)

The Blind Barriers Trilogy: Fragile Facade, Platinum Prey, (Vacant Voices)

The Nightmares Trilogy: Pawn, (Sacrifice), (Checkmate)

Don’t Forget to Enter the Giveaway for the chance at one of 2 ebook copies of The Syndicate!!

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sophie Davis Bio:

“Sophie Davis” is the pseudonym for two best friends, roommates, and now writing partners. The pair met at Penn State’s Dickinson School of Law in 2005 and instantly bonded over their love of great books and bad horror movies. After they graduated, when one longed for the ability to read minds so she wouldn’t have to study for the bar exam, a Saga was born. When the Talented Saga went on to be an internationally bestselling series, the girls decided to throw caution to the wind and follow their shared life-long dream of being writers. The duo currently lives in Washington, D.C. with a poodle and an adorable rescued mutt. The pups are their faithful companions—with frequent social media appearances—as the girls navigate the world of Indie Publishing.

For more information, visit or follow Sophie Davis at:

  Website ~ Twitter ~ Facebook Author Page ~ Pinterest ~ Instagram: @OfficialSophieDavis ~Tumblr: @AuthorSophieDavis

 

Tell me what you think. Feedback people. It's always nice.

