Review: House of Pawns (House of Royals #2) by Keary Taylor

House of Pawns (House of Royals #2)House of Pawns by Keary Taylor

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Born to be No one’s Pawn

House of Pawns is a thrilling, fast-paced novel. It picks up just where the first book end and runs like the wind.

For the most part it seems that Jasmine is left behind while Alivia figures out Ian, her own house and the coming of the King, but she is still there, lingering in the background.

I absolutely loved this book, I loved the emotional ties, and if you have ever read my other reviews before, you’ll know I’m a big fan of character growth-which this book had in spades and plot twists, dips and reveals.

Who else suspects something even MORE now with Daphne after reading this book? What the deal. With curses and why do I feel she’s involved?

Raheem…now he was a nice and fun surprise. I didn’t think I was going to like him as much as I do, and now that Cyrus is here…Will he become just a figment of my imagination?

Everyone of her House Members I’ve fallen in love with, but oh my god, why the hell can’t I figure Rath out?? He’s a wonder, beautiful conundrum!

My biggest bone, and probably only bone, is that is felt so forced or unnatural, the way that Ian and Alivia were pushing and shoving against each other in this book, house it seemed like one big set-up for something else, or just a way to get Ian out of the way. It actually reminded me a lot of Chaol and Celaena in The Throne of Glass series, and how it made way for Calaena and Rowan. Raheem, are you her new princely toy?

Besides that (the 1 star mark-down) I loved this book!! and I’m so looking forward to House of Kings…in fact I’m going to start reading it immediately.

Goodbye fellow readers, Keary-lovers and friends

~Let the Ink Run Free

View all my reviews

Tell me what you think. Feedback people. It's always nice.