Review: House of Kings (House of Royals #3) by Keary Taylor

House of KingsHouse of Kings by Keary Taylor

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

4 1/2 Stars!

Okay so I admit, I read House of Pawns, then dove straight into House of Kings…And read them both in ONE DAY!

Yep. That’s right. They were that good. I had to know what was happening.

Just like with House of Pawns, this book picks up right where the last one ended! Alivia took a pill to end her own life, Ian came in through her window beggin her to leave with him, but it was too late. There was commotion. Someone drained her. The world went black. When this book starts, Alivia, the House and certainly the reader is in for a ride. She is in bloodlust, and her whole world has changed, King Cyrus has changed the game, and Ian is gone. And we all know from experience that Alivia does NOT cope well when there is no Ian.

So she undergoes a metamorphosis in several ways, but struggles repeatedly. It like whiplash with her demeanor the whole book. I don’t know who she is anymore and I don’t think she does either. It broke my heart honestly.

Cyrus, Cyrus is a tool. I love him. I Hate him. I love to Hate him. And above all of that…I pity him, honestly truly pity the guy who just wants his wife, but has become a monster and will spend the rest of eternity looking for her to have only a moment in time before she’s gone again.

And can I just say AWWWWWW. I never thought that the members of Jasmine’s House would be so damn loveable, but here I am Just wanting to cuddle and hold them all.

This whole book I was waiting to see if Alivia was Sevan, but knowing all the while she wasn’t and watching the world come crashing down around everyone in the political game Henry never wanted her be a part of. And Rath!! Rath broke my f*$^ing heart. He is the one who stands out the most to me from this book, well him and the ending. That just completely shattered what was left of my heart.

But honestly, I was enraptured, and Raheem I was sooo conflicted over his character. I love him he is perfect book boyfriend material, but I just felt so wrong or guilty or something with him and Alivia. I just don’t know!!!! Though we did see less of him this book, what with the King being here, and him being a jealous man, especially if she IS his wife.

But like my review, I felt the plot of this book was over the place not too chaotic, but enough that I was unsure of where I should be looking. Author’s intent? Throw me off the scent of her true game and plot or twist…who knows. But I am completely ready for the next book. Oh, that right this one has to release first. C’mon hurry up. We haven’t got all day!

~Let the Ink Run Free

View all my reviews

 

*Thank You to the Author for the copy for Review!*

Tell me what you think. Feedback people. It's always nice.

