Review: Dawn of Ash (Imdlaind #5) by Rebecca Ethington

Dawn of Ash FrontTitle: Dawn of Ash

Author: Rebecca Ethington

Genre: YA Paranormal

Hosted by: Lady Amber’s Tours

 

Blurb:  Underneath the deep red barrier Edmund has placed over the city, Prague is in ruins…

 

Vilỳ hide in the darkened alleys, waiting to attack anyone who passes, while Edmund’s men roam the blood-soaked streets, scouring every crumbling building in a mad attempt to flush out Ilyan and his men.

 

Among the danger, Ilyan and Joclyn are trapped, unable to leave the city. trying to keep their people safe behind a powerful shield, unseen from Edmund and his scouts.

 

Wyn spends her days haunted by her daughter and watching Thom waste away from the mysterious curse slowly taking him.

 

Ryland has risen above his father’s control, ready to take his place as his brother’s second. However, Sain needs his help first for a simple assignment, or so he thinks.

 

Their safety is about to be shattered.

 

A mole behind those safe, Cathedral walls has begun whispering through the survivors that Joclyn is unstable, that her magic is an uncontainable force that will destroy them all in the end.

 

Determined not to let the rumors affect her, Joclyn battles ahead, only to have reality and sight intersect in an explosion that shatters the walls between future, past, and present, leaving her imprisoned in a seamless existence she must learn to control … before Edmund and Ovailia control her.

 

Before Sain unfurls the plan he has been orchestrating for centuries.

 

A Little Bit About Rebecca

Rebecca Ethington is an internationally bestselling author with almost 700,000 books sold. Her breakout debut, The Imdalind Series, has been featured on bestseller lists since its debut in 2012, reaching thousands of adoring fans worldwide and cited as “Interesting and Intense” by USA Today’s Happily Ever After Blog. From writing horror to romance and creating every sort of magical creature in be-tween, Rebecca’s imagination weaves vibrant worlds that transport readers into the pages of her books. Her writing has been described as fresh, original, and groundbreaking, with stories that bend genres and create fantastical worlds. Born and raised under the lights of a stage, Rebecca has written stories by the ghost light, told them in whispers in dark corridors, and never stopped creating within the pages of a notebook.

Author Links: Amazon | Goodreads | Twitter Facebook | Web

Pre-Order Links: Amazon | iTunes | B&N

~~~~~~

My Review:

Dawn of Ash (Imdalind, #6)Dawn of Ash by Rebecca Ethington

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

5 Silný Stars

Oh, my holy hell. I had tried to write this review just after I finished reading the book, but I was too much of a mess, my thoughts jumbled, and I’m pretty sure I would’ve let out more than one spoiler. So here I am, a couple days later, and my mind is still reeling over the events that took place in this book, the lines crossed, and even where it was cut off ( I mean what the heck Rebecca Ethington!! ) That last book better be coming out sooner rather than later.

My little Imdalinders, you will certainly not be disappointed in Dawn of Ash! It was everything I had hoped for and more. With more POVs from Joclyn, Ilyan, Wyn, Ovailia, Sain, and even Ryland. We are taken around in a constant stream of just enough information to sate, but never fully satisfy the questions brimming. What is the True Future going to hold? Can you really break a sight? Do they have to die? What’s Sain up to (Man, I thought Edmund was a d*#k at the beginning of this series? Whoo, Ryland and Ilyan, your daddy dearest is a cuddly teddy bear compared to Joclyn’s)? And with each new reveal, new questions just popped up more and more.

Joclyn truly comes into her power, or her power comes into her, but either way…MONUMENTAL!! I won’t give anything away, hopefully, but she actually spends most of the book in one vision or another. Then there’s Ilyan who is still a sweetheart and knight-in-shining armor, always trying to save his Love and his People, but he seems to have taken a back seat in this book with all the other things going on, this book much more heavily focused on Joclyn and Sain, with a side of Wyn. You can never forget Wyn.

Sain, I don’t think I can fully express how much I despise him, and yet appreciate his character, but mostly I despise him. Can we kill him yet? Like now? The second I read this passage?

“I changed it and created a war that would end in her death. I set brother against brother and father against son. I took the image I had seen of Joclyn beside the well, of her magic restarting all of the magic. I took the other, of her alongside her father-in-law in peace. I took the battle that ended in life. I took it all away and showed him death and destruction, instead. I showed him her dead body as he held her, as he screamed. I took his future away.”

Yeah, screw you, too Sain. Yeah, I’m going to leave it there because I’ll either give the book away or ramble and diatribe on about Sain..neither one is good.

Moving on!

Past the deceit, the basckstabbing and the lies.

DoA Teaser

Then there is Wyn, Wyn who I love and is fighting so hard for the ones she loves, the ones she lost. Talon is still talking to her in her dreams, she can still hear her daughter’s voice, begging for her to save her, and the thing that could set her free also puts her at the greatest risk. But Wyn is struggling with the two sides of herself, so asking for help and fearing what others will say…yeah NO! Stubborn Mule. But I still love her and my heart breaks when she comes to face two of her own (I’m not telling you a darn thing of what that’s supposed to mean so 😛 )

Ryland. Oh Ryland. He can’t seem to stay out of love, but this time it seems to be the right kind of love, not a I must possess you-kind of love. He’s also in charge of training the Chosen who Joclyn managed to save from go Edmund crazy evil, or dead, and train them for battle. But The very first and youngest they saved Jaromir, stays with Ryland where ever he goes, looking for guidance and acceptance. It seems Ryland has found himself a new ward, and he’s scared witless.

So overall this book was quite amazing! The pacing was good. There was action, but it didn’t over run the book, and plot twists. I was serious in the beginning when I said that I’m ready for the next book, this one leaves it’s characters and you dangling on the edge of a very dangerous precipitous. One move and it can go either way, but what move? whose? Is everything as it seems, or are there still twists to be had?

Until the next.
~Let the Ink Run Free

If you’re interested in Dawn of Ash, Check out these other blogs tomorrow and Wednesday and Come back tomorrow for a Release Day Blitz!

2/23: 2 girls who love books

2/24: Mom with a Reading Problem
*I received a copy of this ARC in exchange for my honest review*

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: Dawn of Ash (Imdlaind #5) by Rebecca Ethington

  1. Pingback: Dawn of Ash Release Day Blitz! | Let the Ink Run Free

Tell me what you think. Feedback people. It's always nice.

