Review: Scorched Treachery (Imdalind 3) by Rebecca Ethington

Scorched Treachery (Imdalind, #3)Scorched Treachery by Rebecca Ethington

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Okay my lovelies, so you know how in my review for Eyes of Ember I said that it was a tangled web we weave because of a possible love triangle? Yeah well screw you love triangle. This book blows whatever webs you weave out of the water.

Eyes of Ember left off with Jocelyn trapped in the nightmare of Cail’s mind and the games he was playing with her. Scorched Treachery starts off while Joclyn is trapped in the tormenting hell of Cail’s mind, and the battle around her only continues to grow and spread.
*
Edmund has infiltrated the underground hallways of Prague, guiding the massacre that would end the lives of the last of the great magical race. In her attempts to stop him, Wynifred has been captured and her magic restrained. Chained up in the ancient dungeons of Prague, her fate is left in the hands of her father, who has tried to kill her before.
With Ryland’s screams and Sain’s fragmented sights as her only company, Wyn must rely on something that has been hidden deep inside of her for centuries to help them break free.
*
Ilyan’s whole life has been building up to one purpose. Protect the Silnỳ. He knows what he must do, and he has no doubt in his ability to do so.
But when his father’s magic removes Joclyn’s mind from her body, he is left protecting the shell of the one person he loves. Desperate to find a way to break her free of her prison, he makes a choice. And that one choice changes everything.
Now, Ilyan finds himself bound to Joclyn in a way that he never knew to be possible.
They say that blood is thicker than water, but Black Water burns, and Ilyan’s heart may not be strong enough to keep it pumping through his veins and give the girl he loves back into his brother’s care.
Even if he can, it may not be safe to do so.
_____

Yeah, so happy times at Ridgemont High huh? NOT! You know what my one and only update to goodreads was for this book? At 67% Saying “You suck. This book sucks. I hate crying. Why did it have to be so good?”

Yupp. I was that sucked into it the whole time, on the edge of my seat, the page, pulling my hair out, biting my nails, talking or screaming at the characters, until I hit 67%, then I couldn’t hold it in or keep it to myself anymore. (Note I didn’t spoil anything!)

But oh yes, this book will scorch and sear you. You will cry, and anguish, ruminiate, and want to destroy things before it’s over, but despite all that You will love this book like a slow sweet burn, simmering under your skin. There will be betrayals, as the title suggests, new friendships, deepening friendships, loss, and so much more.

For me, however, oh I didn’t know whether to consider Ilyan or Wyn the main character and apple of my eye in this book. They both have captured my heart so fully, and I was always so invested in them, although there are so many other characters in play here. Dramin, Sain, Thom, Ryland, Edmund, Wyn, Ilyan, Talon, Joclyn, Ovalia and more. With so many people in play, who is/are the traitors? Who can you trust?

What I absolutely loved about this book was that it never lost momentum and I was constantly on my toes, guessing wwhat would come next, trying to figure out the grand scheme of things, but Rebecca is too good at throwing twist after plot twist at you then running away like a kid yelling NOT IT!

Or an overzealous sea witch.

Not only was the plot constantly advancing but there was even more character development, as if they could develop any more!! Yes that’s right, they’re still growing folks. Wynifred especially. And perhaps Ilyan and Joclyn’s relationship as well…?
I forewarn, that the POV and location is in constant flux, from Ilyan at the caves to Wyn in a dungeon with Edmund, Ryland, and Sain. While normally having shifting povs annoys me to some degree, I actually enjoyed the change of scenery–to understand Wyn and Ilyan and see inside their minds, what they think, their unfiltered thoughts, and not just what they actually say.

I don’t know if I have a bad word to say about this book other than, Damn you for making me cry, you horrible sadist, and I love you, please make it all better.

Read it!!!! You must read it! Or pick up the series if you haven’t.

 

And as always,

~Let the Ink Run Free

View all my reviews

Tell me what you think. Feedback people. It's always nice.

