Review: Eyes of Ember (Imdalind #2) by Rebecca Ethington

Eyes of Ember (Imdalind, #2)Eyes of Ember by Rebecca Ethington

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Full Steam Ahead!

Joclyn is in hiding, hunted by the man she still desperately loves. Ryland is gone, his mind erased, no memory of Joclyn remains. But, Joclyn’s heart desperately begs her to hold out hope. While, in reality the black eyed monster that possesses him, attempts to kill her over and over.

If it wasn’t for Ilyan, Joclyn would be dead by now.

Ilyan. The man who once stalked her, is now Joclyn’s protector, the only thing she has left. He protects Joclyn from the men who seek to end her life, and while she is haunted by dreams where Ryland begs her to break the bond between them.

Ilyan is there. Always there.

Ilyan trains and prepares her, teaching her everything she needs to know in the hope that one day she can avenge Ryland, if not protect herself from him.

And then there is her father.

The man who has never been there, is suddenly responsible for everything. And who he is has made Joclyn into something she never wanted to be.

The Silnỳ.

This book, so many feels and emotions I don’t even know if I can properly convey it. First on my list, that I know many people have/had trouble with: the love triangle angle.

Yes, so while the first book had Ryland and Joclyn proclaiming their undying love, this second book may have a few people reexamining their positions. When I first realized that three was the possibility of a love triangle, I about stopped reading right there. I was so angry. Everywhere I turned there was another love triangle, that just does not work out!, but by the end of the book, I had been swayed. Swayed to Team Ilyan. That’s right folks. I gave up on the wholesome Ryland!

Ryland has been taken to the dark side, and while he has moments of lucidity, begging for their bond to be broken to save Joclyn and himself,

he is mostly under his father’s control, so he’s all evil now!

Meanwhile, Ilyan is showing his soft side and Joclyn is getting some TLC. It’s so easy to see that he has feelings for her, yet still unclear whether she even likes him. Personally I think she feels like she’s indebted to Ryland or something because of their bond. I can’t imagine or understand that she still loves him after his continuous attempts on her life, in which Ilyan is there to heal her again and soothe her aching heart, making his own bleed as well. *oh what a tangled web we weave*

 

Secondly the Development. For me this book was a lot more of character development, the plot moved a little, but there was nothing so momentous till the very end mostly everything was on the character stream. But the characters changed, developed, adapted and grew, or regressed, by leaps and bounds. Which was completely fine, I never felt bored, or compelled to skim or skip (yes that does happen) I was fixated to the pages, and when the twist, finale ending came…

Then I was

OMG OMG OMG, where’s the next book?

This book reminded me a bit of the Princess Bride, action, love, intrigue, some humor…with the way some of the characters are described a Spaniard, giant, prince, king… a duel, a dance. No wonder I loved this book so much, it’s an insta-classic!

There are 3 scenes I think that will forever be seared into my mind, both in a loving, dreamy way and epic. Can you guess which they are, read the book and tell me your theories!

Onward and upward to Scorched Treachery.

~Read On and Let the Ink Run Free!

View all my reviews

Tell me what you think. Feedback people. It's always nice.

