Review: Exiled: Kenly’s Story (A Talented Saga Novel) by Sophie Davis

Exiled: Kenly's Story (A Talented Novel)Exiled: Kenly’s Story by Sophie Davis
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

*I received this book in exchange for an honest review*

Okay. A review. Right.

I honestly really really liked this story. The further development of Kenly’s character, the introductions of so many more bloody amazing blokes. Oh, and did I mention that it’s placed in London, England so we get to see the Talented/Contamination version of the other side of the pond, and enjoy a shite-load of British-isms.

http://i951.photobucket.com/albums/ad352/MuffinPirate/GIFs%20Pics/omg.gif

In this continuation and side-story between Created and Talented #5, the story takes a different turn. Thus far while all the books have had some political undercurrents, Exiled kicks that up into main focus. The political turbulence surrounding being a Talent (or Chrome as they’re called in good ol’ England) and even more for Created, especially in the face of TOXIC’s downfall.

I’ll admit that it took me a bit to get into the story, such a turn from the other books in the Saga, but once I did, oh man I was hooked. I was hard pressed to put it down. Willa, Honora, Riley, and James…oh James. Any one who doesn’t hold a little bit of love for him is a nutter in my book. But anyways, I was swept up in this band of tight-knit Chromes who looked out for each other, and romances cropping up left and right. Thrills of avoiding being pinched by poachers (that’s kinda fun to say: pinched by poachers. Say it with me now, “Pinched by poachers”).

Worrying over what will happen, analyzing every possible outcome with Kenly. I honestly don’t know if it’s my own reading style or Davis’ brilliant writing, but I felt like I took on Kenly’s Higher Reasoning skills and continually computed every detail and possibility as the story progressed.

My biggest problem with this book is how much was left unresolved. So much of the story Kenly had been pissed at Talia for betraying the Director, TOXIC, and especially Kenly herself, then as the story progresses those feelings retreat but she can never pinpoint why. She becomes more and more confused about what really happened and who was in the wrong. Is UNITED good? why does Erik hate her? What is UNITED really doing? What were all those facilities? Why was the Duke looking for Talia and Donovan’s son? What was going on with Tug, it seemed like more than met the eye. And even more questions cropped up, but none of them were answered, instead it felt like the characters and writers were trying to use Mind Manipulation to say let’s not worry about that for now, forget they even exist, we’re focusing on another quest now! Another chapter is about to begin. That just doesn’t sit right with me.

http://24.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_manxt3CV0U1r76lino1_500.gif

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “Review: Exiled: Kenly’s Story (A Talented Saga Novel) by Sophie Davis

  1. Pingback: Unforgettable (Talented Saga 4.5) by Sophie Davis Upcoming Release! | Let the Ink Run Free

  2. Pingback: Cover Reveal: The Syndicate (Timewaves Book 1) by Sophie Davis | Let the Ink Run Free

  3. Pingback: BEA-utiful! | Let the Ink Run Free

  4. Pingback: A Writer’s Work is Never Done…Is It? | Let the Ink Run Free

Tell me what you think. Feedback people. It's always nice.

