A Daily Prompt: The Refuge

A room. A room that can hold only three items before it disappears. Do I count as an item? I’ll say not. And what do I use it for? A refuge. An escape from my reality. To try to escape my pain, to lower it. 

I have chronic pain you see, so reading, music, meditation or relaxation are things I use to block out my pain, to focus my attention elsewhere and escape the present. Or some meditation and relaxation actually are meant to try to lower the pain level. 

 

In this room I would have a book, just a book that I could command any book of my choice to appear within its pages. (Hey this room disappears if it holds more than 3 things, I think I’m allowed some leeway here…) A luxurious, electronic reclining chair that has built-in speakers and an overhead light for music and reading. And finally a mp3-player. 

The walls would be painted as if it were a library with images of book lining 2-D shelves on the walls, with intricate bindings and plain, old and new, torn and pristine. It would look as if you could reach out and pluck a book from the shelf, but instead you would simple need to choose a title and it would appear in the single book occupying the room. I would curl up on the chair for hours reading, listening to music, sleeping, all three, or mixtures. reading and music, music and sleeping… It would be the next best thing to having my own personal pool or ocean–the other refuge in my life. 

 

What would you do with this high maintenance room that will only hold 3 things?

Original Post: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/breathing-room/

2 thoughts on “A Daily Prompt: The Refuge

  1. After exploring a number of the blog articles on your web page, I really like your technique of blogging. I book marked it to my bookmark webpage list and will be checking back soon. Take a look at my web site as well and tell me what you think.

    Like

    • Thanks for all your kind words! Hopefully tomorrow, or within the next few days I can get up some new posts 🙂

      I tried to look at your site, but it wouldn’t let me in. Is there somewhere else I could go?

      Like

Tell me what you think. Feedback people. It's always nice.

