Review: Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky #1) by Veronica Rossi

Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky, #1)Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Oh, were you trying to talk to me? I’m still stuck in my book hangover. And I’ll probably roll it over into a week long or more thing as I start the second book of this series.

I feel like…

Popcorn
mixed with

Valentine-charlie-brown
<and a little

Bed

Perry and Aria, Aria and Perry. Roar, Talon, Vale…. Oh the richness of characters. The succulence of plot. The veracity of world-building! Too much?

I’ll try to contain myself.

So I had started from the VERY beginning with the novella, Liv and Roar. I thought I was doing myself a favor…. HA! It came later for a reason. after having read that, and learned so intimately the relationship between Roar and Liv and their circumstances, I was a little thrown–and disappointed–when Under the Never Sky opened with a completely new character and focused on Perry and this..Aria.

Where was my romance of the pseudo-star-crossed Liv and Roar?

But what I got was so much more. Aria is a ‘Dweller’ and lives in a pod, a safe place from the Aether and weather. From the savage outsiders. but when she experiences something she shouldn’t–in a quick meet with Perry, some fighting, and saving her life–she’s shunned to the outside world, and left to her death. Only Perry finds her, and saves her life. Again. and again. and again. Lets just say thats their thing. Perhaps why this book appeals to me so much is because it reminds me of Pride and Prejudice a great deal. they both have misguided notions of the other. Aria is a more outgoing personality, and in the outside world, with no Sense I guess you could call her low-class. Perry is more quiet and taciturn, he’s from a powerful family of Scires (people who can smell really well and sense moods/tempers). But as they spend more time together they learn from each other and grow to like each other and even more.

Yeah, I’d say I hit the nail on the head. It’s one of my favorite books, with a modern twist. Science-fiction and fantasy and a slight dystopian undercurrent. This book has it all. It’s like Princess Bride, fights with giants (well kinda giants), duels to the death, cannibals, romance, technology, and manly bonding. 🙂

It covers the bases for both sexes. Under the Never Sky has definitely wormed its way into my Favorites shelf!

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “Review: Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky #1) by Veronica Rossi

  1. Pingback: Review: Through the Ever Night (Under the Never Sky #2) by Veronica Rossi | Let the Ink Run Free

  2. Pingback: Review: Into the Still Blue (Under the Never Sky #3) by Veronica Rossi | Let the Ink Run Free

Tell me what you think. Feedback people. It's always nice.

