Review: Fallen Series by Lauren Kate

I’m going to do this a bit differently. First I’m going to write a little about the series as a whole, then add all my reviews for the books below. One HUGE review. Alright? Let’s begin.

I started Fallen thinking it was going to be this incredible story. And what I found was something…different. I don’t think there’s a huge craze around this series because the writing itself is amazing. I just couldn’t see it. Good storyline, a little rocky, but what draws readers and producers to this is the magnetism. I can even explain what it is about this story that draws you in, regardless of slow pacing or incongruent plotlines, nonexistent character development–you just CAN’T put the damn thing down. I mean I read all four book in four consecutive days, and when I was done with the series I dreamt about it. I can name the number of book or series on one hand that had me dreaming about them days afterwards, and I would not have thought Fallen would make that list. But like I said, there’s something there, beneath the surface that just..pulls…at you. It grabs you and keeps drawing you nearer and renders you defenseless against the slightest charm of the tale. The biggest problem I had with this story, and you’ll probably hear this repeated in my other reviews, is that the story of the fallen angels doesn’t seem completely solid, like there are holes in it. Even then sometimes they have perfect recall, and then when the story calls for it…oopps! Amnesia. I just. It was wonky (for lack of a better word). They were all over the place in their background and their memories. And as the books went on and we went into the past, you would think the dialogue would change to fit that time period, right? No…occasionally they would use a British slang or term but they really stayed, present day informal. Even when they were in the 1000 BC and language was really non existent. I just felt that could’ve been better. But this is me nitpicking. Overall, I actually really did like the story and was as I mentioned before entranced by it. And those covers…absolutely adore them. And after reading the series…so fitting. It’s almost like playing ‘duck duck goose’! The series as a whole, I give a low-end 4 stars!

Fallen (Fallen, #1)Fallen by Lauren Kate
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

3 1/2 stars

Fallen Angels. Heaven and Hell. Demons. Reincarnation. It’s all here.

Finding the right star rating for this book was difficult for me. I waffled between 3 and 4 stars, and even dropped down to 2 at one point, but for any nitpicking I could do about this book, it is magnetising. I couldn’t put it down.

Lets get the bad out of the way, shall we? I found discrepancies in the angel’s back story and characters to be flawed. But this could be entirely my catholic upbringing mixed with my nerdy-scientific side that just couldn’t accept some of the finer aspects told. They keep not only the lines between good and evil and heavenly fallen angel versus demon so blurred. I can understand in the beginning having a vaguity, but as the story continues we need some clarity to ground ourselves into their reality, right? And the story did seem to move a bit slowly, but that was minor to me in comparison to these other factors that had me yelling at the screen (My dogs hid).

As for the rest of story…sighh. Now this really is a tale as old as time. True love conquers all! Well hopefully. Thats the gist of their curse, and the plot.

Daniel fell from Heaven, and refused to choose sides…

Why?

Princess Bride

Even though she bursts into flames anytime they get close to being together? Talk about romance…

Okay, enough of that. This is near to the ultimate romance for me. She is willing to continually die for him, and he is willing to wait out the ages looking for her, waiting for his soulmate and perhaps the day when things will be different and they can break this curse. Guess what. That’s what this is! but we don’t see any happily ever afters. In fact, for most of the book Daniel is an ass and Luce is wooed and schmoozed by a demon who seems to go back and forth between actually caring and having some other plans.

I have to admit, I do love how she gave each character their own personality within the angels/demons and humans. It was really interesting to see who was on whose side and how their personality fit there. *Slight Spoiler* I do admit I’m a sap, so I cried when a certain character died.

Overall it was a good book, but since I’m writing this after reading the entire series, I’ll tell you–it gets better. Read on, dear reader!

View all my reviews

Torment (Fallen, #2)Torment by Lauren Kate
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Okay. I know I Said the series gets better as it goes on, and it does, but this book bugged me. And we don’t have the romance of the first novel to soften the annoyingness of this one.

In this second novel of the Fallen Series, Luce is hidden away at yet another private school, this time on the west coast of California under the protection of an angel, demon, and nephilium teens (oh my!). This entire book is Luce trying to hone her skills of calling announcers to her and looking inside them to her past, and then when the time comes..stepping through them. In between these personal lesson are fights with Daniel, pining for Daniel, hating Daniel, feeling sorry for herself, confused attraction to a nephilium kid named Miles (I mean really, do we always have to do the crazy love triangle thing?), being attacked by people who want to kill her, and making friends (aww our little girl is all grown up and making friends on her own!).

What bugged me: they kept bringing up good vs evil and that its not as black and white as you may think, but no further explanation. They hint at Luces role and then back off every 2 seconds (no wonder she’s pissed at the world). The lack of romance–and Miles doesn’t count (shocker). The pity party Luce throws when anything doesn’t go her way or she see/hears something she doesn’t like.

What I liked: how the announcers were further developed and brought into the story after their bland role last book. Finally getting peaks at Luce’s past, and closer to what the hell she’s supposed to do. Luce coming into her own more (I mean that fencing fight…rock on)

I guess this book was really just a stepping stone to me, a means to an end. It had some substance, a cleanser between meals. The real feast comes in the next two volumes.

View all my reviews

Passion (Fallen, #3)Passion by Lauren Kate
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

*MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS*

I can’t decide between Passion and Rapture for my favorite book of the series. It was really good! In this book Luce steps back in time through an announcer in search of proof of her and Daniel’s love, that is not just a product of some curse. Along the way she meets a gnarly gargoyle , named Bill who seemed a bit off, but Luce ignored it in pursuit of her own interests, of course. She travels through decades and centuries, millennia of their romance. Sees the absolute joy of their coupling and the despair and pain. She witnesses her own death, and the tragedy left in its wake, and she joins with her past lives to glean their knowledge of their love and perhaps further insight into this curse.

Along the way she realizes the purity of Daniel’s love, and her own. That it is not a kiss or touch that kills her, but her own self-awareness that brings about her demise. But it is seeing Daniels pain–sleeping through her reincarnations, the years he has to wait for her, seeing him try to kill himself in despair that wrecks her and has her contemplating either killing herself, or as Bill suggests, using a starshot to destroy her immortal soul so that she’d be free of him and the curse. But their love prevails (Happy clapping), Daniel in his past form reassures Luce, without even knowing the danger their love was in.

“What if there’s no hope of anything ever changing?” she asked.

“There is only hope. One day, you will live through it. That absolute truth is the only thing that keeps me going. I will never give up on you. Even if it takes forever.” He wiped away her tears with his thumb. “I’ll love you with all my heart, in every life, through every death. I will not be bound by anything but my love for you.”

“But it’s so hard. Isn’t it hard for you? Haven’t you ever thought, what if …”

“One day, our love will conquer this dark cycle. That’s worth everything to me.”

I loved, I mean
loved
getting to see into Luce and Daniel’s past lives and their individual romances, because Kate does give them a chance to have variety in their love story each time, which I applaud. Not the same old song and dance.

I still just sigh and smile goofily thinking about some of the scenes in this book and still there was action and self discovery. We even follow the present day Daniel a few times and learn what’s going through his mind. It was overall a very good book and recapturing it here…I’m starting to understand why I’m still dreaming about these characters days later.

View all my reviews

Rapture (Fallen, #4)Rapture by Lauren Kate
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Okay. So Passion takes the cake on favorite book. There I said it. Rapture….I just don’t know what to say about it. It had its good points but there were still points that as the last book in the series I was just pulling on my face.

I mean, after all Luce has been through and you would think her time ass-kicking through the announcers she would have more self-confidence and awareness but no. She turns into a mouse, back in the real world, scared and unsure. I mean really? After you time at Shoreline and after seeing your past lives, and living them you’re still going to stand there and tremble?

Moving on then. And we continue to get hints of Luce’s role, only they’re more urgent as time ticks down. WTF. Okay What’s the point of even mentioning her role if you’re not going to say anything about the role other than to annoy the living hell out of me, because you bring it up ever other word? Hmm? Didn’t think so.

Even though it was a bit weird and out of no where (kinda kumbaya if you ask me) having the Outcasts team up with the already allied angels and demons to stop Lucifer–not to mention everyone seems to worship Luce. (awkwarrddd). But really did love Dee, the yin to Miss Sophia’s yang. She’s sweet, she’s snarky, she’s badass. She’s old and young. She’s the deseridium. And she is the key to Luce unlocking those oldest memories. It is with Dee’s parting gift from this world that Luce is finally able to recall who she is and how she met Daniel. Why they were cursed and by whom.

*SPOILERS BELOW*

No, God had not been the original one to think of this punishment, for jealousy and revenge were the ultimate motives. Luce had turned away from the Morning star, Lucifer for a purer, truer love with Daniel. And in his spite Lucifer suggested such a curse be placed on them in their banishment on earth. (Yes, Luce is, was, an angel. The 3rd in command if you will.) It was she who needed to pick a side.

*END SPOILERS*

It seemed that this ending was rushed, and it didn’t exactly meld with the rest of the narrative very well. It seemed stunted in a way like there had been more, but it was but…like a movie that took out vital scenes. And then the epilogue…we’ve seen them fall in love I had wished that the epilogue had taken place even further down the road, while they were happily in love. That we could see that Ever after. Not another beginning, that was truly disappointing to me. How many times have we seen them fall in love. Even Arriane mentions something along the lines of “I love this part”…it’s happened so many times, but what’s beyond the meeting?

It was good..I still cant decide if it deserves a 3, 3.5, or 4 stars. Giving it the Benefit of the doubt, I’ll leave it at 4.

Have you read the series? What do you think?

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: Fallen Series by Lauren Kate

  1. Appreciating the time and energy you put into your blog and in depth information you provide. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed information. Excellent read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account. ddcdakggadcd

    Like

Tell me what you think. Feedback people. It's always nice.

