Review: Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken (The Darkest Minds #2)

Never Fade (The Darkest Minds, #2)Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Bloody Hell.

Can I just take a moment to let this book settle in my mind? No, I take that back, not even time will help. Like the title suggests, this story will Never Fade from your mind. It is forever a neon rainbow of morals and words, people and emotions. It is a book that stays with you.

Alexandra Bracken enraptured me. It took me a bit, I admit to get back into the story. We start off with new characters, new locations, and seemingly new plots. She’s now with the League, where we meet her rag-tag team: Jude(a yellow), Vida(a blue), Nico(a yellow), Cole(Liam’s older brother, and Cate(the mother-hen from book 1). When adults in the league start killing kids and using missions to cover them up, Ruby is sent out to retrieve some intel that could help expose Gray and free kids from camps everywhere. The problem? Liam has it and he doesn’t even know.

It was a lot to take in, but by god she knows how to grab you by the balls and hold your attention. I was constantly twisting in my seat and keeping a moan in check for the turmoil that is Never Fading in the story!! Ruby and her powers. Liam and his memories, or lack thereof. Group dynamics. Who good and who’s evil? It was a constant test of my patience not to either break my computer, nor ignore sleep, work, editing..life…so i could just read this and KNOW once and for all.

But there is no once and for all, Never Fade will bleed into another story in another year, or two and break my heart some more before stitching it back up. Where it did end, oh. There are no words. No really. No words, because there’s absolutely no resolution. Children are still imprisoned or hunted, in fact the leader of the League is dead; reform in motion. President Gray has publicly declared war on the League and the children. Ruby and Liam still seem to be destined apart. And yet, none of that seems to bother me. I don’t even care that my characters aren’t together (that’s saying something), because I’m just so invested in this overall plot and ruined by a character death. And…

Oh for heaven’s sake just read the book then talk to me so I can gush and commiserate with you!!

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken (The Darkest Minds #2)

Tell me what you think. Feedback people. It's always nice.

