Review: The Mind Readers by Lori Brighton

The Mind Readers (Mind Readers, #1)The Mind Readers by Lori Brighton
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

3.5 stars

As you might have noticed, I have have a penchant for the more YA, paranormal/fantasy (when I’m in the mood) and this book definitely had piqued my interest from the get go.

A young girl, able to read minds her whole life but holed away from the world and sheltered from life. Her grandmother warns her not to use her skills or to let others onto her abilities no matter the situation. But when people are being hurt and killed, and Cameron could’ve prevented it? That’s the straw that breaks the camel’s back, well that and a gorgeous guy who dangles the forbidden fruit of knowledge. What happened to her father? Who are these people her grandmother has been running from for years? And how does he block his thoughts?

Cam leaves everything she knows for another world just as distressing. When everyone around you can read your mind and still block their thoughts, who can you trust to be honest?

Deception, fear, love. This book has it all. The plot really is gripping and pulled me in, even the characters are well developed to their own personalities and quirks.

What drove down this book’s rating for me is so often the writing was very amateurish despite all the other good stuff. So many times a character would say something just to give us information or so there could be a description when either we could’ve gone without or found another way to get that info across. It was disarming and kept pulling me away from the story. I would be jerked out from the world Brighton was trying so hard to create by those very descriptions. I truly cannot stand when a book has so much potential, but doesn’t reach it because of stupid mistakes or lazy writing.

To conclude this I will say that I really did enjoy the story and am interested in where it is heading. I have so many theories (conspiracy theories) and the romantic in me wonders if there’s any hope for Cam. Looking forward to the next in The Mind Readers series.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: The Mind Readers by Lori Brighton

Tell me what you think. Feedback people. It's always nice.

