Review: Unravel by Calia Read

UnravelUnravel by Calia Read
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

4 1/2 stars.

Wow. Just wow.

I think my mind is still processing all the repercussions of this book. Now after having finished it, I’m of half a mind to go back and read it again knowing what I do. And yet…I don’t know if I could do it. This book had me on a rollercoaster of emotions and feelings. I was so at odds. One second I’m engrossed and the next I’m practically revolting from the book, physically walking away from my reader and doing something else to try to protect myself because I know, I know that this is going to be hard. 

~~~

What does it feel like to go insane? Is it slow? Does it happen in an instant? Do you even realize and recognize your own insanity and desperation? Can you be insane and never realize it? What causes insanity in the midst of innocence?

Naomi battles her own psychological welfare in this emotional read. She had a great life. The perfect boyfriend. A prestigious family and money. A best friend whom she could tell all her secrets. But a glass house always looks prettier from the outside, and no one thinks of how quick it is to shatter.

I was duplicity itself while reading this novel. I didn’t know whether I wanted to stop reading or continue till I was finished. I wanted to stop because the emotions were so intense for me that I constantly seemed to be pulling away just to breathe. I mean that doesn’t happen to me. Sure I’ll cry, scream, laugh, or twitch my way through a book, but that all-consuming need to step back just to catch your breath, to relax and focus again? That was new. I didn’t know if I liked feeling almost out-of-control. I, myself, was unraveling. But then there was my curiosity, and the pathos for these characters pulling continuously back again. (And do I need to even mention the romance? —>Hopeless Romantic<— Enough said. But even the romance wasn't safe from angst and confusion and hurt. 

A big part of that romance was Max, well Max and Lachlan. There was just something about him that intrigued me, pulled at me. Not to mention his place int he story. His role. I couldn’t quite figure out all the pieces and it was killing me. How did this all fit together?! And why did I like Max more than Lachlan? I mean seriously there was nothing wrong with Lachlan. He was perfection personified. SOmeone else read this book and explain my preference to me. But by the end, it wasn’t Max or Lachlan that had me crying and a pile on the floor. It was Naomi.
As you can tell, this isn’t my normal go-to type of book. But I certainly enjoy something REAL and hard every now and then to keep me grounded from the fluff or fantasy. Those sci-fi and paranormal or even dystopian realities. 

You may wonder why this book got such a high rating if I was at such war with it and myself so much while reading it. Simply put, because it’s brilliant. It’s well written and thought-out story line with engaging characters that make you feel and interact with them. (Yes I talked to the book) And while I didn’t always agree with what was happening–child abuse, rape, cheating–it always managed to draw me back even at the darkest of times. And only a truly good book could accomplish that. Otherwise I probably would’ve either given up, or left it on my shelf for weeks, months, years until I got enough confidence to try again. 

Try. Try this book..

View all my reviews

Tell me what you think. Feedback people. It's always nice.

