Review: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles, #2)Scarlet by Marissa Meyer
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I couldn’t believe that Meyer pulled it off with this book. I loved it.

I mean… It had been really rocky for me for a while. We jumped right into this entirely new POV, when in the end of the last book we had left of abrupt and bereft with Cinder breaking out of prison.

I couldn’t possibly understand why we were following Scarlet and Wolf (Separately then together) so much when I thought this was more of Cinder’s series. We hardly heard from Cinder at all throughout the story. We got more of Kai’s POV, even some of Queen Levana or her Theramurges.

But as I was reading the most remarkable thing happened. I’m not sure where or when, but somewhere along the lines I found myself caring more about Scarlet and Wolf’s story, their happy ending seemed within grasp. I barely thought of Cinder. And then the three stories collided in this one world. Cinder and Scarlet and Wolf met in an attack by Lunar operatives orchestrated by Queen Levana while she’s searching for more information about the lost Lunar Princess Selene. My heart was breaking at the end of this novel, not only did it seem unlikely that we would see happy or romantic endings for any of our characters (four of which I have become unhealthily invested in) but the plot was no where near being unresolved. In fact, circumstances had only worsened from the first book.

I finished Cinder in less than 24 hours, but Scarlet I think was scoured in less than 12. I’m addicted and so thankful that I have Cress sitting on my bookshelf, waiting to be devoured.

View all my reviews

Tell me what you think. Feedback people. It's always nice.

