Review: Legend by Marie Lu

Review: Legend by Marie Lu

Legend (Legend, #1)Legend by Marie Lu
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I have a feeling this series is going to give me a book hangover. This was so good. Despite flipping from June and Day’s perspectives, the narrative was well told and the characters solidly built.

So many book blogs and people and built this book up that I thought there was no way it could live up to expectations. And while it can and does fall into the dystopian and, even romantic, pigeonhole, it also has unique perspectives that I like to find–little treasures I think of these unique gifts.

In the beginning I was so sure that the romance storyline would prevail and shatter the dystopian/action going on. That there was no way June could go through with her plans for Day, but I was surprised when she did (although I admit I’m not sure how happy I am about that. Hopeless romantic that I am…) But she stuck to her convictions and only let facts and instinct motivate her into action, her character was consistent in its principles even when flip-flopping sides. Day, however charismatic, I just wanted to shake after his imprisonment. I mean he continuously switched from hopeless and desolate, to his normal,self-possessed, freedom-fighting, arrogant self. It was a harder pill to swallow, especially while missing Tess and wanting to punch Thomas (even before the end).

But its that discord and emotion fr the characters that makes it so great. While the plot is brilliant, and I’m sure not even half has been revealed, without that emotional connect to the characters the novel is just words on a page, they make it a story, a world, a life.

One that I cannot wait to continue.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: Legend by Marie Lu

Tell me what you think. Feedback people. It's always nice.

