Review: Divergent by Veronica Roth

Divergent (Divergent, #1)Divergent by Veronica Roth
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

From the beginning I was sucked in.

From the style of the writing to the plot to the characters, there was not one angle that I was not constantly pouring over and devouring for more. I consumed this book and it consumed me.

I love the way that we are told the story. The first person narrative gives us so much deference and license to opinion, judgment. It calls us to interact. We may not always, or ever, like Tris but we certainly understand where she comes from at every moment.

And I just have to call out that while Four is beyond my favorite (cute little fangirl moment) the comparison and tension between Eric and Four is even greater. The complexities between characters, the flow and ebb of plot…I don’t want to give any spoilers, but they are all so intricate that I’m amazed. And for a young adult novel it still calls forth probing questions about identity, truth, power, courage and the interrelations they all play with each other.

Outstanding novel! From the fire and into the fire pit… Diverge and insurge!

View all my reviews

Tell me what you think. Feedback people. It's always nice.

