Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1)Cinder by Marissa Meyer
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I was captivated by the cover and description from the moment I had seen it on a book blog, promoting Meyer’s newest book Cress — a brand new take on the same old fairy tales? Yes, and please.

In this near post-apocalyptic book, where the population is decimated by this plague called Letumosis. With such small numbers, what was ASia has now been concentrated into New Beijing where we meet our heroine Cinder, a cyborg mechanic adopted into the care of the Lihn family by its patriarch Garan(with Adri, her step-mother and two step-sisters Pearl and Peony) before his sudden death.

In this thrilling retelling of a childhood classic, Meyers goes beyond the fairy and creates elaborate webs of plot twists and character development. While one plot is developing in the background another is being followed in the fore, and I think that is what makes these books go beyond the pigeonhole label of fairytale, dystopian, or the like. She truly makes it her own.

And while I readily admit that towards the end of the book Cinder’s attitude, her poor me, no one can love me, everybody hates me, might as well give up attitude would bug me as it flickered in and out I truly think that having a heroine that isn’t perfect, and can create friction not only with other characters but with readers is a good thing, refreshing.

What intrigue awaits in Book 2, Scarlet, with Little Red and Big Bad… The better to read you with.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

  1. Pingback: BEA-utiful! | Let the Ink Run Free

Tell me what you think. Feedback people. It's always nice.

